SylviaSylvia Besana was a Roseville native who epitomized the word "volunteer". An educator, counselor and avid community leader, Sylvia spent the greater part of her life giving back to the community and making a difference through her continued commitment to serve.

The Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award is a tribute to her and to her lifetime of community service. This annual award recognizes individuals in the Roseville community who display dedication through consistent commitment to community service, serve as role models by inspiring others to volunteer, and demonstrate leadership, excellence and integrity through volunteer service.

Click on the links below for more information regarding the criteria and nomination process for this award.
Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award Criteria
Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award Nomination Form

Recipients are recognized at City Council Meetings and their names are engraved on a perpetual plaque commemorating the honor; the plaque is displayed in the lobby of the Civic Center.

2018 Winner: 

Margo Ezell is the recipient of the 2018 Sylvia Besana Community Volunteer Award.

Margo started giving back to the community upon her retirement in 1996, when she began looking for opportunities to give back to her community. As such, she became a judge on the Placer County Election Board and has since served on every election in Placer County.

 In 1999, she joined the Board of Directors at St Rose Church and became the social outreach director. From 1999 to 2014, she served breakfast at Saugstad Park for the hungry and homeless and drove those who needed County-provided services such as medical, dental, mental care, and legal services to Auburn.

She also helped the homeless who weren’t able to read and write by filling out paperwork for Social Security benefits and later became their payee. As their advocate, she found them housing, paid their rent/bills and setup weekly allowance for numerous active clients and collectively for 42 clients throughout the years.

In 2015 she also started helping those in need at St Vincent de Paul, driving her clients individually to receive services. 

Past Recipients
2017 Nayan Pradhan
2015 Fred and Pauline Wight
2014 Ed and Marian Tiedemann
2013 Olu Shaola
2012 Esmerita Rivera
2011 Janet Zeitman
2010 Aldo Pineschi, Jr.
2009 Melba Erven