Housing choices are as broad as Roseville’s population, economic and household needs. This primer features the range of housing categories you may see in our community.

Affordable Housing 

Affordable Housing 

Also called “low income housing,” affordable housing generally means housing where the rent or purchase price is reduced by a subsidy so that it is affordable to low income households.

This is also sometimes called “deed-restricted” affordable housing, because a contract on the land requires the housing remain affordable for a specific timeframe.

Potential renters must earn less than 80% of the area median income (the threshold for “low-income”) to qualify to rent housing and buyers must earn less than 100% of the area median income to qualify to purchase.

Middle Income (Workforce) Housing 

Middle income housing (also known as workforce housing) generally refers to housing affordable to middle-income families, where potential buyers or renters must earn between 80% and 120% of the area median income to qualify to buy or rent the housing.

These are households which do not qualify for “affordable housing,” but may still struggle to make ends meet—especially during periods when rents or home prices are high.

Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) 

Formerly known as Section 8, the HCV Program, formerly called “Section 8” refers to Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, and is not a type of housing. It is a federal program which offers rental assistance in the form of a voucher to very low-income households earning less than 50% of the area median income. The voucher-holder can use their voucher anywhere and pays approximately 30% of their monthly income toward rent. The Housing Authority pays the balance of the rent to the landlord.

Permanent Supportive Housing

Permanent supportive housing is designed to provide long-term affordable housing to people with disabilities or other special needs who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless. This type of housing includes supportive services such as health care referrals, rehabilitation, counseling, and educational classes. Residents are required to pay a portion of their monthly income for rent. 

Transitional Housing

Transitional housing is designed to help people experiencing homelessness achieve stability and transition within two years to permanent housing. This type of housing includes supportive services such as educational and job counseling and mental health support. Residents are required to pay a portion of their monthly income for rent. 

Emergency Housing/Shelter

Emergency housing This is housing offered on a short-term basis for people who do not have a permanent housing option. There are many types of emergency housing, including housing for people experiencing homelessness, people experiencing domestic violence, and youth in crisis.

Learn about affordable housing in Roseville: roseville.ca.us/housing 

See how Roseville plans for development: roseville.ca.us/developmentdecoded 

Find resources and learn about Roseville's approach to homelessness: roseville.ca.us/homelessness 

Residential Care

Congregate Care

Technically called a Congregate Living Health Facility, congregate care is a home where 24-hour medical care is provided to residents. This is for people who have a continuous need for skilled nursing or supportive care, such as memory care, for the elderly or a hospice center. 

Intermediate Care

Intermediate care is a home where medical care is provided to residents, but not on a continuous basis. This is for people who have a recurring need for skilled nursing or supportive care, but do not need such care on a 24-hour basis. Common intermediate care facilities include group homes for people with disabilities who require some medical support.

Skilled Nursing 

A skilled nursing home is for residents whose primary need is for the availability of skilled nursing care on an extended basis, but usually for a limited term. These facilities provide physical therapy and other support for residents recovering from a stroke, surgery, or other event requiring rehabilitation. 

Long Term Care

This is a term used to describe any residential care facility providing long-term medical care to residents, including congregate care, intermediate care, and skilled nursing. 

Community Care (Assisted Living)

Community care is a home where non-medical care is provided to residents. This care is for residents who need supervision, support, or assistance for daily living, but who do not need in-home medical care. Common community care homes include assisted living for the elderly. 

Family Day Care

Family day care is a licensed care facility provided within a home that does not include overnight care. Most commonly, family day care provides child care.