Public Utilities Commission

The seven-member commission studies and advises the City Council on cable television franchises and all utility issues related to city-owned utilities (electric, water, sewer, and solid waste). Issues include planning, rates, public information, complaints about rates or operations, and activities of utility joint powers agencies.

The Public Utilities Commission meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at 311 Vernon Street.

Current Commissioners Are:
  • Blandon Granger (Vice Chair)
  • Gretchen Hildebrand
  • James McHan
  • Kerry Schmitz
  • John Speight (Chair)
  • John Vertido
  • James Viele

Note: Agendas, Minutes, Staff Reports and Legal Notices posted on this website are provided as a public service and are not intended to serve as a part of, or a replacement for, any part of the legally required noticing or posting of these materials.

Richard Plecker
Environmental Utilities Director
-or- Michelle Bertolino
Electric Utility Director

Karen Sainsbury
(916) 774-5770
-or- Cheryl Hammond
(916) 774-5636